WHAT IS COMMIT TO KIDS?

Commit to Kids is a program to help organizations create safe environments for children. It provides policies, strategies, and a step-by-step plan for reducing the risk of child sexual abuse, encouraging organizations to take an active, participatory role in protecting children in their care.

Many prevention programs focus on education for children, but fail to address the specific risks that child-serving organizations face. Adults are responsible for protecting the children in their care. Commit to Kids teaches organizations how to define appropriate boundaries between adults and children and create safe, respectful environments.

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection created this program for all organizations that work with children. We know child-serving organizations are vulnerable to having children in their care being sexually abused by individuals who target the organization. They are also vulnerable to attracting those who become attached to a child they work with, break boundaries and engage in sexual offending behaviour. Commit to Kids is adaptable to organizations of any size and is easy to use. The program includes a DVD with sample policies, plans, and reproducible forms that can easily be amended and used by organizations.

Commit to Kids will help organizations:
  • Prevent child sexual abuse through increased awareness and education
  • Evaluate risks that exist
  • Teach employees/volunteers (who will then teach children) the difference between appropriate and inappropriate behaviour
  • Provide employees/volunteers with specific strategies on how to prevent abuse
  • Design programs that focus on child safety and supervision
  • Establish clear boundaries between employees/volunteers and children
  • Ensure that allegations of sexual abuse are handled in a sensitive, timely and effective manner
  • Understand their legal obligations to report child sexual abuse to a child welfare and/or law enforcement agency
  • Ensure the highest standard of practice when working with children

PRÉSENTATION DU PROGRAMME PRIORITÉ JEUNESSE

Le programme Priorité Jeunesse aide les organismes à créer des milieux sũrs pour les enfants. Il propose des stratégies, des politiques et une approche méthodique pour réduire les risques d’abus pédosexuels. Le programme encourage les organismes à jouer un rôle actif dans la protection des enfants placés sous leur responsabilité.

De nombreux programmes de prévention visent à éduquer les enfants sans toutefois prendre en considération les risques particuliers qui existent au sein des organismes de services à l’enfance. Les adultes ont le devoir de protéger les enfants sous leur responsabilité. Priorité Jeunesse apprend aux organismes à établir des limites appropriées dans les relations adultes-enfants et à créer des milieux sûrs et un climat de respect.

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance destine ce programme à tous les organismes qui offrent des services à une clientèle d’enfants. Nous savons que les organismes de services à l’enfance peuvent attirer d’éventuels abuseurs d’enfants. Ils sont également susceptibles d’attirer des personnes qui s’attacheront aux enfants dont ils s’occupent, dépasseront les limites et se livreront à des comportements sexuels obscènes. Priorité Jeunesse est un programme adaptable aux organismes de toute taille et facile à mettre en œuvre. Le DVD d’accompagnement propose des modèles de politiques, de plans et de formulaires que les organismes peuvent adapter à leurs besoins.

priorité jeunesse aidera les organismes à :
  • Prévenir les abus pédosexuels par des mesures de sensibilisation et d’éducation;
  • Apprendre à leur personnel et à leurs bénévoles (qui l’apprendront ensuite aux enfants) à distinguer les comportements appropriés et inappropriés;
  • Proposer aux employés et aux bénévoles des stratégies axées spécifiquement sur la prévention des abus;
  • Concevoir des programmes axés sur la sécurité et la surveillance des enfants;
  • Établir des limites claires en ce qui a trait aux relations des employés et des bénévoles avec les enfants;
  • Veiller à ce que les allégations d’abus sexuels soient traitées avec sensibilité, diligence et efficacité;
  • Prendre conscience de leur obligation légale de signaler les abus pédosexuels;
  • Se doter d’un code de conduite rigoureux en matière de services à l’enfance.